Search

Insight Meditation Resources


BOOKS FOR THOSE NEW TO PRACTICE


Many of these books are available for download on a dana (donation) basis. If so, the link to the download site is listed. Otherwise, the books can be found at a local bookstore, ordered at a bookstore or are available online from sites such as Amazon.


Finding the Missing Peace, Ajahn Amaro https://www.abhayagiri.org/books/426-finding-the-missing-peace


Mindfulness in Plain English, Bhante Henepola Gunaratana


Eight Mindful Steps to Happiness, Bhante Henepola Gunaratana


The Issue at Hand, Gil Fronsdal https://www.insightmeditationcenter.org/books-articles/the-issue-at-hand/


Viviendo en el Presente (The Issue at Hand en Español), Gil Fronsdal

https://www.insightmeditationcenter.org/books-articles/the-issue-at-hand/


A Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction Workbook, Bob Stahl and Elisha Goldstein


The Experience of Insight, Joseph Goldstein


Pāramī, Ajahn Sucitto https://www.abhayagiri.org/books/519-parami


Peace Is Every Step, Thich Nhat Hanh


BOOKS FOR FURTHER STUDY AND PRACTICE


Food for the Heart, Ajahn Chah


Unexpected Freedom, Ajahn Munindo https://www.amaravati.org/dhamma-books/unexpected-freedom/


Abundant, Exalted, Immeasurable, Pasanno Bhikkhu, covers the Brahma Viharas (Divine Abodes) https://www.abhayagiri.org/books/584-abundant-exalted-immeasurable


Mindfulness A Practical Guide to Awakening, Joseph Goldstein


Satipaṭṭhāna: The Direct Path to Realization, Anālayo


The Wings to Awakening, Thanissaro Bhikkhu


The Wise Heart, Jack Kornfield


The Middle Length Discourses of the Buddha, Bhikkhu Nanamoli and Bhikkhu Bodhi


The Wisdom of Forgiveness, The Dalai Lama and Victor Chan


Beyond Religion, The Dalai Lama


Zen Mind, Beginner’s Mind, Shunryu Suzuki


Everyday Zen, Love & Work, Charlotte Joko Beck


Nothing Special, Living Zen, Charlotte Joko Beck


Awakening the Buddha Within, Lama Surya Das


The Sound of Silence, Ajahn Sumedho https://www.abhayagiri.org/books/554-ajahn-sumedho-anthology-volume-4-the-sound-of-silence


Gratitude, A collection of transcribed talks by various teachers

https://www.abhayagiri.org/books/567-gratitude


The Breakthrough, Ajan Amaro https://www.abhayagiri.org/books/610-the-breakthrough


Present Moment Wonderful Moment, Thich Nhat Hanh


Being Peace, Thich Nhat Hanh


Being Black, Angel Kyoko Williams


Cool Water: Alcoholism, Mindfulness and Ordinary Recovery, William Alexander



ONLINE RESOURCES


Insight Santa Cruz, https://www.insightsantacruz.org/ Classes, daily sittings and talks, articles, retreats, library of books from many traditions


Abhayagiri Monastery, https://www.abhayagiri.org/home Books, recorded talks, and more


Access to Insight, https://www.accesstoinsight.org/ Readings in Theravadan Buddhism including many translations of suttas


Insight Meditation Center, https://www.insightmeditationcenter.org/ Articles, recorded talks, meditation classes and sittings


Dharma Seed, https://dharmaseed.org/ Recorded talks by Teachers from many traditions


Audio Dharma, https://www.audiodharma.org/ Talks by many Insight Meditation Teachers


BuddhaNet, http://www.buddhanet.net/ A wealth of information about Buddhist teachings and practice


PRACTICE AND RETREAT CENTERS


Insight Santa Cruz, https://www.insightsantacruz.org/ Classes, daily meditation sittings and talks, daylong and non-residential retreats, the center has a library of books from many traditions


Insight Retreat Center, https://www.insightretreatcenter.org/ All retreats offered on a dana (donation) basis


Watsonville Yoga, https://www.watsonville.yoga/ Yoga, meditation, dance, healing arts and more


Vajrapani Institute, https://vajrapani.org/ A retreat center in the Vajrayana tradition, group and individual retreats available


Mount Madonna Center, https://www.mountmadonna.org/ Yoga and meditation programs and retreats


Insight Meditation Center, https://www.insightmeditationcenter.org/ Meditation classes, daily meditation sittings, daylong retreats


Insight Meditation South Bay, https://www.imsb.org/


Spirit Rock, https://www.spiritrock.org/ Retreats in the Insight Meditation and other traditions


Abhayagiri Buddhist Monastery, https://www.abhayagiri.org/home Lay people are welcome to come and participate in the monastic life, see the website for details


Insight Meditation Society, https://www.dharma.org/ Located in Barre, Massachusetts, the first retreat center in the Vipassana (Insight) tradition established in North America

24 views0 comments